nfdi4biodiversity logo

NFDI4Biodiversity

Biodiversity Consortium in the NFDI
nfdi4biodiversity logo
Graphic: University of Bremen

Mission statement

NFDI4Biodiversity is guided by the fact that stakeholders from science, politics and nature conservation need reliable data in order to make better contributions to the conservation of global biodiversity. In the partner network, the consortium bundle scientific and technical competences to provide users from research and practice with a service portfolio for biodiversity and environmental data. In the NFDI we share our knowledge and offer added value to the professional community, specifically:

  • Access to modern technologies and a comprehensive stock of biodiversity and environmental data;
  • Everyday and tried and tested methods and tools for archiving, publishing, searching and analyzing data
  • An expert forum for the safe and competent handling of data for diverse and responsible use

Organization of the consortium

The consortium is an association of about 50 partner institutions. Their cooperation and the use of the jointly developed results are governed by a cooperation agreement. The spokesperson institution and the co-applicant institutions are responsible for the implementation of the work program to the German Research Foundation (DFG) . The other partner institutions, as representatives of the biodiversity community, contribute data, software, know-how and other resources to the cooperation.

In 2021, a Strategic Advisory Board was appointed to accompany the development and further orientation of the consortium with an expert view from the outside. The members of the board are professionals in research, practical nature conservation and data archiving.

Work program

The work program for the first funding phase until 2025 comprises five task areas. Task areas 1-4 have a technical-operational focus and include, for example, planning for community engagement and international networking. Task Area 5 covers the organizational requirements and also ensures that what has been developed in NFDI4Biodiversity is available beyond the end of the project. The diagram below provides an overview of the respective responsibilities and the interaction between them. A detailed description of the work areas can be found in our project proposal .

Local NFDI4 Biodiversity Team

The Friedrich Schiller University Jena de is one of the co-applicant and leading Task Areas 1 and 3, while actively contributing to other Task Areas and Measures.

Task Area 1 (2involve): Community engagement

Prof. Aletta Bonn is the lead for the Task Area 1 (2involve).

Under the Task Area 1 there are 5 measures which are,

  1. Use cases to engage biodiversity communities in mobilizing and archiving existing and newly generated data.
  2. Support with tools/platforms for (early) mobilization of data and data analysis.
  3. Front office/back office: Active Research Data Management (RDM) & data science support.
  4. Education and training.
  5. Regular quality surveys, user feedback, quality management, reputation systems.

Task Area 3 (2consolidate): Long-term data, tools and service preservation, certification

Prof. Birgitta König-Ries de is the lead for the Task Area 3 (2consolidate).

Under the Task Area 3 there are 3 measures which are,

  1. Identification and description of the current and emerging technical ecosystem in biodiversity research.
  2. Profiling biodiversity tools, technical services and data centers, adopting them as NFDI-RDC-recommended and guide them towards certification.
  3. Adaptation, Enhancement and Consolidation of NFDI4Biodiversity tool and technical service backbone.
The local NFDI4Biodiversity team consists of

Please contact us if you have any queries or suggestions.

Further information

More information about the NFDI4Biodiversity consortium and events can be found at,

The partners of the NFDI4Biodiversity consortium are funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) as part of the federal-state agreement on the development and funding of the National Research Data Infrastructure (NFDI) of November 26, 2018 (project number 442032008 ).

nfdi4biodiversity logo

NFDI4Biodiversity

Konsortium für​ Biodiversitäts- und Umweltdaten in der NFDI​
nfdi4biodiversity logo
Grafik: University of Bremen

Leitbild 

NFDI4Biodiversity treibt das Wissen an, dass Akteure aus Wissenschaft, Politik und Naturschutz verlässliche Daten benötigen, um bessere Beiträge zum Erhalt der globalen Biodiversität leisten zu können. Das Partnernetzwerk bündelt fachliche, wissenschaftliche und technische Expertise, um Nutzern aus Forschung und Praxis ein breites Dienstleistungsportfolio für den Umgang mit Biodiversitäts- und Umweltdaten zur Verfügung zu stellen und gemeinsam mit ihnen weiterzuentwickeln. In der NFDI , teilt das Konsortium sein Wissen und bietet der Fachgemeinschaft konkrete Mehrwerte an:

  • Zugang zu modernen Technologien und einem umfassenden Bestand an Biodiversitäts- und Umweltdaten.
  • alltagstaugliche und praxiserprobte Methoden und Werkzeuge für die Archivierung, Publikation, Suche und Analyse von Daten.
  • ein Fachforum für den sicheren und kompetenten Umgang mit Daten, die einer breiten und verantwortungsbewussten Nutzung zugeführt werden sollen.

Aufbau des Konsortiums

Das Konsortium ist ein Verbund von rund 50 Partnereinrichtungen. Ihre Zusammenarbeit und die Nutzung der gemeinsam erarbeiteten Ergebnisse sind in einer Kooperationsvereinbarung geregelt. Die Sprecher-Institution und die mitantragstellenden Institutionen sind gegenüber der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) für die Durchführung des Arbeitsprogramms verantwortlich. Die anderen Partnerinstitutionen bringen als Vertreter der Biodiversitätsgemeinschaft Daten, Software, Know-how und andere Ressourcen in die Kooperation ein.

Im Jahr 2021 wurde ein Strategischer Beirat (Strategic Advisory Board) berufen, der die Entwicklung und weitere Ausrichtung des Konsortiums mit einem fachlichen Blick von außen begleitet. Die Mitglieder des Beirats sind Fachleute aus den Bereichen der Forschung, des praktischen Naturschutzes und der Datenarchivierung.

Arbeitsprogramm

Das Arbeitsprogramm für die erste Förderphase bis 2025 umfasst fünf Aufgabenbereiche. Die Aufgabenbereiche 1-4 haben einen technisch-operativen Fokus und beinhalten beispielsweise die Planung des gesellschaftlichen Engagements und der internationalen Vernetzung. Aufgabenbereich 5 deckt die organisatorischen Anforderungen ab und stellt zudem sicher, dass das was in der NFDI4Biodiversity entwickelt wurde, auch über das Projektende hinaus zur Verfügung steht. Das folgende Diagramm gibt einen Überblick über die jeweiligen Zuständigkeiten und das Zusammenspiel zwischen diesen Bereichen. Eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Arbeitsbereiche finden Sie in unserem Projektantrag.

NFDI4Biodiversity an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena

Die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena ist eine co-antragstellende Einrichtung und leitet die Aktivitäten der Task Areas 1 und 3. Sie trägt zudem aktiv zu den anderen Task Areas bei.

Task Area 1 (2involve): Einbindung der Fachkreise

Prof. Aletta Bonn ist Leiterin der Task Area 1 (2involve).

Die Task Area 1 umfasst 5 Aufgabengebiete:

  1. Anwendungsfälle zur Einbeziehung von Biodiversitätsgemeinschaften in die Mobilisierung und Archivierung bestehender und neu generierter Daten
  2. Unterstützung mit Werkzeugen/Plattformen für die (frühe) Mobilisierung von Daten und die Datenanalyse
  3. Front-Office/Back-Office: Aktives Forschungsdatenmanagement (FDM) und Unterstützung der Datenwissenschaft
  4. Ausbildung und Schulung
  5. Regelmäßige Qualitätsumfragen, Nutzerfeedback, Qualitätsmanagement, Reputationssysteme

Task Area 3 (2consolidate): Nachhaltige Daten, Werkzeuge und Dienste

Prof. Birgitta König-Ries ist Leitering der Task Area 3 (2consolidate).

Die Task Area 1 umfasst 3 Aufgabengebiete:

  1. Identifizierung und Beschreibung des aktuellen und neu entstehenden technischen Ökosystems in der Biodiversitätsforschung
  2. Erstellung eines Profils von Werkzeugen, technischen Diensten und Datenzentren für die Biodiversitätsforschung, Annahme dieser Werkzeuge als NFDI-RDC-Empfehlung und Anleitung zu ihrer Zertifizierung
  3. Anpassung, Verbesserung und Konsolidierung des NFDI4Biodiversity-Tools und der technischen Dienste

Lokales Team des NFDI4Biodiversity Konsortiums

Bei Fragen und Anregungen können Sie das Team der NFDI4Biodiversity über das  Kontaktformular erreichen.

Weitere Informationen

Informationen über das NFDI4Biodiversity-Konsortium sowie Veranstaltungen finden Sie:

The partners of the NFDI4Biodiversity consortium are funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) as part of the  federal-state agreement on the development and funding of the National Research Data Infrastructure (NFDI) of November 26, 2018 (project number  442032008 ).